Political Science Professor Kathy Bawn received the 2019 campus-wide Distinguished Teaching Award along with the Eby Award for the Art of Teaching from the Academic Senate’s Committee on Teaching.

This award recognizes the encouragement, help, and mentorship Professor Bawn has provided for students from all backgrounds. Much research in Political Science depends on mathematical reasoning and statistical methods, but many of our students fear and dislike math. Professor Bawn’s classes give students who are initially most fearful access to the tools and reasoning they need to be successful in the discipline. 

Recipients of the Academic Senate’s Distinguished Teaching Awards are chosen from nominations by colleagues and leaders across campus, recommendations by students, and their involvement in community outreach. This is the second year in a row that faculty members in Political Science have won Distinguished Teaching Awards. Professor Lorrie Frasure-Yokley won it in 2018.